Expandmenu Shrunk

Angry Birds Series

Angry Birds Series

Angry Birds SeriesNo Android site is complete without a review of the Angry Birds series. This review, however, is not so much a review of the game as it is the company that developed it, Rovio Entertainment. The story of Rovio is a story of incredible success using a simple idea.

Before Angry Birds, Rovio Entertainment was originally known as a development studio named Relude. The company was founded in 2003 by three students from Helsinki University of Technology, Niklas Hed, Jarno Väkeväinen, and Kim Dikert. The three participated in a mobile game development competition that was sponsored by Nokia and HP.

After winning the contest the three students formed Rovio. They went on to develop King of the Cabbage World which was later sold to Sumea Studios. Sumea renamed the game Mole War which went on to become the world’s first real-time mobile game.

Rovio originally released Angry Birds on the Apple in December 2009. Since then, Angry Birds has been downloaded over 1 billion times! With an initial investment of around $140,000, Angry Birds has made Rovio over 70 million dollars. It has sky rocketed to the number one downloaded app of all time and has managed to infiltrate the Star Wars universe. 800x600_180

Rovio is a truly inspiring story of success and proof that, in a world that seems too full to come up with new and great ideas, nothing is impossible.

Since it’s launch, Angry Birds has spawned a toy line, television shows, and has been referenced in movies. For anyone interested in developing games for Android, the story of Rovio and Angry Birds should truly serve as a model of what can be attained with a dream, a plan, and armed with the right tools.

Ok, on to the review.

Angry Birds

The game is simple, the player slingshots birds into pigs that are positioned on or inside of numerous structures. The objective is to eradicate all of the pigs on the level. As you advance through the game, new birds are made available.


Angry Birds Seasons

This is a series of Angry Birds games continues the awesome game play of the previous game with a theme based on the seasons. It was first introduced as Angry Birds Halloween. angry-birds-seasons-halloween


Angry Birds Star Wars

star wars 2  Combining the the Angry Bird Universe with the Star Wars Universe, the war against the pigs rages on in a galaxy far far away. This Angry Birds series follows the Star Wars IV: A New Hope by beginning on Tatooine, the home planet of Luke Skywalker. Each Angry Bird character has their own special traits. Luke acquires a lightsaber, Obi Wan has force powers, Han Solo has his blaster pistol. This series was released in November of 2012 with a follow up, Angry Birds Star Wars II, that was released in September of 2013.


Android Emulators

All of the Angry Birds games will run very well on the Bluestacks and SDK emulators. However they will not yet work on the Windroy system.

 Android on Windows